Sometimes…

My soul fills up with every single color.  When I close my eyes I can still see the pinks and reds in muted intensity.  I was sitting in near darkness, my little girl asleep on my lap in the rocking chair.  I felt a rainbow suddenly well up and burst upon me as I watched her sleep.  I saw the beauty of her dark curls, her cheek a tiny bowl of sweetness, resting on my arm.  I saw both tiny hands clasped in her lap, her feet ensconced in cozy pink and elephants, and thought, how can the rest of my life compare to this?

Leave a Reply

